top of page

DC Restaurants for Picky Parents


I posted an Instagram story asking for recommendations of restaurants to take my picky parents to in DC. Now, my parents claim they aren't picky, but that's probably because the idea of a burger or pizza makes them happiest. Their "we're not picky" criteria includes:

  • No small plates, they want their own entree. My dad is not a fan of trying to split one fancy hard boiled egg three ways

  • No Mexican or Indian

  • Nothing spicy, my mom tends to think cinnamon is too spicy

  • No sea-food only

  • No Italian, unless it's really good Italian. They are Italian and claim they can make it all better

A few other things: vibe is important to me and my parents. I like some place that screams DC! Some place casual with personality, but not so causal that you want to rush in and out. First I'll share places I have taken them in the past that they love (in order with favorites first, rated 1-3 stars):

  • Bluejacket (***) they loved the vibe here, I like that it's by the water

  • Toki Underground (***) dad loves Asian and there were non-spicy options for mom, this is the kind of vibe they love

  • Busboys & Poets (**) great place, lots of options, more of a lunch vibe though, very DC

  • Petworth Citizen (**) my mom calls this "the pub" and loves the burger

  • Founding Farmers (**) two stars for the big entrees lol, and the vibe isn't bad but we prefer smaller, hipper places

  • Granville Moore's (**) great vibe, feels like you're going out on H without going out

  • Open City (**) brunch, not dinner, but mom loves so I'll include

  • Ted's Bulliten (**) again went for brunch, they really liked it, very DC

  • Red Hen (*) I loved, they liked, maybe a bit too date night-ish for their liking?

  • 2 Amy's (*) went 10+ years ago I actually forget what the reaction was...

  • Smith Commons (*) just OK, not tons of personality, I remember there being normal sized plates though

  • Matchbox (*) again, went over 10 years ago, I feel like it used to be better

Here are some new suggestions from me and others (thank you to all who sent me recommendations!)

From me

  • All Purpose, who doesn't love pizza?

  • Medium Rare, one of those weird DC restaurants I love, and couldn't be more simple

  • Timber, super casual fantastic pizza, not really a sit down for a night dinner place

  • Ruta Del Vino, normal sized entrees

  • Le Diplomate, I go back and forth on if I like the vibe or not, though someone said they didn't like it for dinner because it was too loud

From others (with my own personal thoughts following)

  • Unconventional Diner, this is top on my list to take my parents next.

  • Old Ebbitt Grill, not a bad idea, but I am worried my parents would think it feels to Hard Rock Cafe-esque

  • Farmers and Distillers, again not bad, but we have been to Founding Farmers and my biggest problem there is the vibe and this is similar

  • Farmers, Fishers, Bakers, same comments as above since same chain, though of the 3 I do like this vibe the best

  • Al Volo Osteria, this place looks super cute when I pass, but again hesitant to take them to someplace Italian (update: since I wrote this multiple people have recomended it!)

  • Iron Gate, someone said menu has something for everyone, I would think it might be too fancy

  • Good Stuff, very very casual (amazing!) burgers, I would say good for a quick lunch but not dinner

  • Hill Country BBQ, would be fun for the music! I don't like the non-traditional ordering though

  • The Smith, I thought of this too, but I didn't realize there was one on U Street, I like this option

  • Montmartre, I actually really like this suggestion for a Cap Hill spot, I went in (for brunch) recently and it really surprised me

  • Hank's Oyster Bar, don't know, there is something about Hank's I don't love...

  • Osteria Morini, who doesn't love being by the water? But I'm afraid my dad would not be happy with the sizes of the pasta plates

  • Dukes, casual but sit down, nice for summer with outside seating

  • Mintwood Place, French bistro-esque

  • Republic, a neighborhood spot with a "progressive vibe"

  • Sovereign, don't know enough about to say, but may be too stuffy

  • Commissary, too casual for me, and I don't like the vibe

  • Logan Tavern, like Commissary but more up-scale

  • Circa, someone said great for real basic food

  • Succotash, I honestly can't get myself to go in here since I used to live across the street and all I remember is girls in short dresses and guys looking greasy going clubbing at Ultra Bar

  • Central, too fancy for us, but maybe good for others

  • RPM, too fancy for us, but maybe good for others

  • Sfoglina, too fancy for us, but maybe good for others

  • Aqua el Duo, too fancy for us, but maybe good for others

Places I have taken them that they didn't love

  • El Centro they don't like Mexican, but our reservations fell through and we were desperate

  • Tail Up Goat, again, my dad hates splitting small plates

  • Maketto, my favorite restaurant in DC! But way too spicy for my mom

Have more ideas? Send them to me!

Email: samanthasbrewedawakening@gmail.com

More Latest Posts

bottom of page